Skip to main content

Celebrating the sector at the TES Awards 2018

25 October 2019

Each year, the TES FE Awards brings together colleges and training providers from across the UK to celebrate the inspirational and exceptional work of the FE sector. Last Friday’s awards, hosted by comedian Alan Davies, were no different with the great work of our member colleges being recognised across all of the awards categories. David Hughes, AoC Chief Executive was part of the judging panel for the awards and said of the evening: “It was lovely to see the eager and passionate crowd at the TES FE Awards on Friday celebrating all that's great about further education and colleges. And what shone through for me is how much colleges help people transform their lives and achieve their ambitions.” Carole Stott, AoC Chair who also attended the awards said: “A brilliant night at the TES FE Awards. Huge congratulations to all the winners and finalists. And thanks to TES, and to the sponsors and everyone who came along for the celebration of all the wonderful achievements in further education” AoC would like to congratulate all the finalists and winners of the awards. Awards winners Adult and community learning provider of the year – Lancashire Adult Learning Apprenticeship programme of the year – Busy Bees Training Academy Assessor of the year – Keith Haynes, Bedford College Group Best teaching and initiative – Barking and Dagenham College Contribution to local community – ELATT Employer engagement – Stephenson College FE college of the year – Fareham College FE leader of the year – Lowell Williams, Dudley College of Technology Lifetime achievement – Jill Westerman Outstanding use of technology for improving teaching, learning and assessment – Basingstoke of Technology Overall FE provider of the year- Foxes Academy Professional services team of the year – Central Bedfordshire College Sixth form college of the year – Birkenhead Sixth Form College Specialist provider of the year – Foxes Academy Support for learners – Kirklees College Teacher of the year – Alison Scattergood, East Durham College Training provider of the year – HIT Training To see winner's profiles for each category, please refer to the TES winners booklet.