Skip to main content

Mental Health Reference Group

Group Chair

Peter Mayhew-Smith, Group Principal & CEO, South Thames Colleges Group


  • Alex Reveley, Head of School, Hull College Group
  • Bill Webster, Principal, Bolton College
  • Carla Sweeney, Pre16 co-ordinator, New College Swindon
  • Catherine Armstrong, VP Students and Partnerships, Shrewsbury Colleges Group
  • David Gregson, DfE
  • Debbie Garroway, Vice Principal Curriculum and Quality, Chelmsford College
  • Denise Haney, Head of Student Services, Newcastle and Stafford Colleges Group
  • Elsbeth Tibbetts, Group Director of Student Experience and Safeguarding, Activate Learning
  • Emma Crosskey, Head of ASC and SLT, New College Durham
  • Greg Corcoran, Director of Alternative Education, East Durham College
  • Heather Clarke, Vice Principal, Student Experience, Loughborough College
  • Helen Janska, Assistant Principal (SENCo), Northampton College
  • James Gould , Vice Principal- Student Services and Recruitment, Sir George Monoux College
  • Jess Leech, Assistant Principal Students, Barnsley College
  • Kate Sahota, Digital Health Checks Programme Manager, Prevention and the Public Health System Directorate, Department of Health & Social Care
  • Katrina O'Brien, Head of Department - Additional Leaning Support, Bedford College Group (The)
  • Laila Bentley , Assistant Principal – Student Experience and Support, Peterborough College/Inspire Education Group
  • Laurence Morton, DfE
  • Lisa Psaras, Mental Health Lead, Dudley College of Technology
  • Mark Malcomson, CBE, Principal and CEO, City Lit
  • Michelle Dowse, Principal & CEO, Heart of Worcestershire College
  • Niki McKenna, Head of the 14+ Academies, 14+ Academies (Leeds City College)
  • Penny Taylor, Head of Newark Campuses – Education and Training, Lincoln College Group
  • Polly Harrow, Assistant Principal, Student Experience, Kirklees College / FE Student Support Champion
  • Sarah Le Good, Head of Inclusion, Foundation Studies and Learning Support, Riverside College
  • Sharon Legg, Head of SEND, Halesowen College
  • Ste Bailey, Executive Assistant Principal, Student Support & Foundation Learning, Wirral Metropolitan College
  • Steve Jinman, 14-16 Senior Curriculum Manager Tower Hamlets, New City College Group
  • Sue Barry, Head of Teaching and Learning, North Kent College
  • Tamarra Taylor, Executive Director of Learner Services Deputy Designated Lead for Safeguarding , Grimsby Institute of Further & Higher Education

Upcoming meetings:

  • Wednesday 5 June 2024: 10:00am-12:00pm

Past meetings:

  • Thursday 7 March 2024
  • Thursday 5 October 2023
  • Wednesday 21 June 2023