Skip to main content

Colleges reach finals of AoC Beacon Awards 2022/23

15 November 2022

The finalists for the 2022/23 Beacon Awards were announced at the AoC Annual Conference in Birmingham.

Colleges were nominated in 12 different categories for their contribution to the further education sector. This year’s programme also includes the new AoC Award for Excellence in Governance.

The AoC Beacon Awards capture and celebrate the best and most innovative practice among UK further education colleges. The aim of the awards programme is to demonstrate and promote the far-reaching impact of colleges on their students and the communities they serve.

The awards are judged by independent assessors, with an independent Chief Assessor ensuring consistency across the categories.

Congratulations to the colleges that have met the AoC Beacon Standard 2022/23.

The NOCN Group Award for Mental Health and Wellbeing

  • South Eastern Regional College
  • Nottingham College
  • John Leggott College

The British Council Award for Internationalism

  • Petroc
  • Gower College Swansea

The Careers & Enterprise Company Award for Innovation in Careers and Enterprise

  • Bishop Auckland College

The City & Guilds Award for College Engagement with Employers

  • Sparsholt College with Alton College, Andover College, BCoT ,Brooklands College and Guildford College
  • Preston College
  • City College Plymouth

The Edge Award for Excellence in Real World Learning

  • EKC Group
  • Coleg Gwent
  • South Eastern Regional College

The Jisc Award for Effective Use of Digital Technology in Further Education

  • Heart of Worcestershire College
  • USP College
  • Activate Learning

The RCU Award for Support for Students

  • Oldham College
  • Education Partnership North East (EPNE)
  • City College Plymouth

The Nous Group Award for Education for Sustainable Development

  • BHASVIC (Brighton, Hove and Sussex Sixth Form College)
  • EKC Group
  • Weston College

The National Centre for Diversity Award for Inclusive Learning Leadership

  • Coleg Cambria
  • The Bedford College Group

The AoC Award for Widening Participation

  • Hopwood Hall College
  • South Gloucestershire and Stroud College (SGS)

The AoC Award for Excellence in Governance (new for 2022/23)

  • Weston College
  • Barnsley College
  • Education Partnership North East (EPNE)
  • Cardiff & Vale College

Find out more about the excellent work of the finalist colleges through their project synopses available on the College Awards website.

The winners will be announced in early 2023.