Skip to main content

Winners of 2019 AoC Sport Awards announced

12 April 2019

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2019 AoC Sport Awards. The awards are the chance for member colleges from across the country to showcase and celebrate the achievements and inspirational work of students and staff in college sport. The annual accolade represent the very best approaches that colleges are adopting to ensure that every student is regularly participating in sport or physical activity. A record number of nominations were submitted this year so thank you to all the colleges who entered. There were some very strong entries and we would like to congratulate all the winners and runners-up on their achievements. The winners will be presented with their award at the opening ceremony of the National Championships on 26 April. Team of the Year, sponsored by Matrix Fitnesscelebrates the domestic or international, success of a student team competing in AoC Sport competitions

Newcastle Stafford College Group (women’s volleyball)

Runners up Leeds City College- Rugby league academy Richard Huish College- Men’s and women’s basketball Loughborough College- Women’s rugby union Student Performer of the Yearcelebrates the domestic and/or international success of a current student

Randy Jean-Guy from Leeds City College (basketball)

Runners up Mate Okros- Myerscough College Lauren Knight- Richard Huish College Abbygael Harris- Newcastle Stafford College Group Inspirational Student/Volunteer of the Yearrecognises the commitment of an individual student to college sport and physical activity as a volunteer and/or leader

Angel McGillan from Tyne Metropolitan College

Runners up Tesfahun Awoke- The Sheffield College Kaitlin Willetts- Dudley College Saadia Abubaker- Gower College (Swansea) Achievement in Disability Sportawarded to a disabled sportsperson or team that has achieved improvement in their development

Matthew Harding from Wirral Metropolitan College

Runners up Rylan Casey- Myerscough College Lily Mills- New City College (Hackney) Thomas Ferry- Tyne Metropolitan College Hall of Fameawarded to staff who have made a continuous commitment and significant contribution to college sport and physical activity

Lynne Gardner from Peter Symonds College Will Thompson from Nottingham College

For more information about criteria and how to apply next year, click here. More details about the winners will be announced after the National Championships.