Skip to main content

ECFA Development Framework

The ECFA Development Framework was created by ECFA with the assistance of the sector and Sheffield Hallam University Sport Industry Research Centre to drive standards in football across further education and support colleges to reach their potential.

The framework is built on the four ECFA strategic pillars of Participation, Competition, Workforce and Community with each containing a range of criteria that colleges must evidence to demonstrate quality. These pillars represent:

  • Providing inclusive playing opportunities
  • Supporting talent
  • Developing a student workforce
  • Engaging with the community

You can find the criteria and required evidence here.

Colleges will be required to submit evidence across the year against each criteria via a digital evidence folder. Stars are then awarded at the end of the year based on evidence provided. These quality indicators will be awarded per pillar and for overall provision.

Colleges will receive a bespoke action plan that provides guidance and highlights areas of focus to support development of football provision across all pillars. There is no timeline for achieving stars which allows colleges to develop their football provision at their own pace with the support of an action plan to help colleges prioritise the areas that are important to them.

Your College,

Your Students, Your Way


Accredited Colleges can opt in to the Development Framework here. If you are not an Accredited College, then you can find further information and join the programme here.

Development Framework FAQs