Skip to main content

Further education sector honoured

19 June 2019

The Association of Colleges has paid tribute to the governors and staff of colleges who have received awards in the Queen’s Birthday Honours. Carole Stott MBE, Chair of the Association of Colleges board, said: “We are pleased to see that the hard work and dedication of so many college principals, teaching staff and governors have been recognised in this year’s New Year Honours list. They work tirelessly to ensure that their students receive top-quality education and training and this is reflected in their awards. “It is particularly gratifying to see two former AoC presidents, Richard Atkins who received a CBE and Dr David Collins who received a knighthood, being honoured for their work in the further education sector. “We are also delighted that our Chief Executive Martin Doel has also received a CBE for his dedication to further education.” Knight Bachelor David Collins, Further Education Commissioner CBE Richard Atkins, Principal of Exeter College and former president of the Association of Colleges Martin Doel, Chief Executive of the Association of Colleges Sue Murphy, Chair of Governors at The Manchester College OBE Catherine Hill, Deputy Principal at Blackpool and The Fylde College Sam Parrett, Principal at Bromley College of Further and Higher Education Sally Cooke, for services to further education accessibility and inclusion MBE Margherita Biller, Head of Maths at York College Clare Harrigan, Chair of the Board of Governors at Leeds College of Building Anita McGowan, Lecturer and Personal Tutor at Croydon College Kathleen O'Rourke, Vice Chair of the Governing Body at City and Islington College Jolyon Dodgson, Governor at Myerscough College Jean Yates, Governor at Myerscough College