Beacon Awards 2021/22 commended colleges announced

09 Nov 2021

We are excited to announce the commended colleges for the 2021/22 Beacon Awards. This year’s AoC Beacon Awards programme has 11 categories, including the new AoC Award for Widening Participation.

Assessors have recommended those applications that should be commended for their practice in each of the award categories, having demonstrated a high level of innovation, impact and sustainability.

Congratulations to the colleges that have met the AoC Beacon Standard 2021/22.

The Nous Group Award for Education for Sustainable Development

  • South West College 
  • South Devon College

The Copyright Licensing Agency Award for Excellence in Supporting Creativity

  • Grimsby Institute of Further & Higher Education (TEC Partnership)

The National Centre for Diversity Award for Inclusive Learning Leadership

  • Havant & South Downs College (HSDC)
  • Cardiff and Vale College
  • The Sheffield College

The AoC Award for Widening Participation

  • South Eastern Regional College
  • Isle of Wight College
  • Sunderland College (Education Partnership North East)

The NOCN Group Award for Mental Health and Wellbeing

  • Solihull College & University Centre
  • Coleg Cambria
  • Sandwell College
  • Chichester College Group
  • Derwen College

The British Council Award for Internationalism

  • East Sussex College Group
  • Burton and South Derbyshire College
  • City College Plymouth
  • Isle of Wight College

The Careers and Enterprise Company Award for Innovation in Careers and Enterprise

  • Westminster Kingsway College (Capital City College Group)
  • Weston College
  • Oldham College

The City & Guilds Award for College Engagement with Employers

  • South Eastern Regional College
  • West Suffolk College
  • Lincoln College
  • Bournemouth and Poole College
  • Sunderland College (Education Partnership North East)
  • Telford College
  • Burnley College
  • Coleg Gwent
  • New City College Group
  • Plumpton College
  • Exeter College
  • Salford City College (SCC Group)
  • Bradford College

The Edge Award for Excellence in Real World Learning

  • Rotherham College (RNN Group)
  • Bridgwater and Taunton College
  • Weston College
  • Boston College
  • Walsall College

The Jisc Award for Effective Use of Digital Technology in Further Education

  • Bournemouth and Poole College
  • South Gloucestershire and Stroud College
  • Weston College
  • Bridgend College
  • Basingstoke College of Technology

The RCU Award for Support for Students

  • Kingston Maurward College
  • Exeter College
  • Salford City College (SCC Group)
  • Barnsley College
  • South Devon College
  • The Sheffield College

Find out more about the excellent work of the commended colleges through their project synopses available on the College Awards website.

The finalists will be announced at the AoC Annual Conference from 10.30am-10.45am on 17 November.