Skip to main content

New Select Committee Chairs

13 July 2017

Responding to the announcement of the new Education Select Committee Chair, Ian Ashman, President of the Association of Colleges, said: "Congratulations to Robert Halfon on his election as Chair of the Education Select Committee. He will make an excellent chair and hold the Government to account effectively. The role of the Education Select Committee will continue to be critical in this Parliament, particularly with the changes and challenges facing the sector. "Robert has a detailed knowledge of the college landscape and understands the importance of the sector in meeting the skills challenges this country faces. AoC has worked closely with Robert in the past both when he was a Minister and as a backbencher and we will continue to do so as he begins this new role. “Congratulations also to Nicky Morgan on being elected as the Chair of the Treasury Select Committee. She also has a great history of engagement with AoC and with her local college. We will be looking to work closely with her on issues relating to skills and investment, particularly with the implications for Brexit.”