Beacon Awards 2018/19

The Beacon Awards celebrates the best and most innovative practice among UK further education (FE) colleges. It is managed by AoC and run through the AoC Charitable Trust - a registered charity. Now in its 24th year, the awards showcase best practice and innovation in colleges. It is designed to promote the interdependence of colleges, businesses and professional and voluntary organisations. The awards also highlight excellence and helps share best practice across the sector.

The hashtag for the awards is #AoCBeacon

Awards categories

Details of the eight new awards are as follows:

Award prospectus and guide to applicants 2018/19

AoC Beacon Awards Guide to Applicants 2018-19.pdf

Beacon Awards Data Privacy Notice.pdf

Stage one applications are now closed

The deadline for stage one applications was Friday 20 July (12noon).

If you have any questions, please contact the Charitable Trust team: Interim Director, Ian Munro or Interim Officer, Rachel Costello by email

Awards ceremony 

We are also delighted to be working with Tes as our awards media partner. Whilst the application and assessment of the AoC Beacon Awards and Tes FE Awards will remain independent we will jointly announce our respective finalists at the AoC Annual Conference and Exhibition dinner in Birmingham in November and announce the winners at the Tes FE Awards in association with the AoC Beacon Awards ceremony in London in March 2019.

For more information on the 2019 Tes FE Awards please follow this link.
We are really excited about the opportunities this partnership offers for colleges to tell us about the outstanding practice and working with Tes will bring together the most prestigious awards recognising the FE sector; we do encourage you and your staff to apply.